Senior Portfolio: Week 7, From Nothing, Something

Elisabeth Roscoe

10/5/2015

Kate Sibole

Senior Portfolio

 

Week 7:  From nothing, Something

 

After watching the film, “From Nothing, Something” I want you to consider what your creative life looks like in the future? What does your life look like in 5 years? 10 years? 20 years?

 

What story about your “younger self” do you think will be recalled as part of a pivotal shift towards your success? The “I remember when…”

 

My life in the future might be somewhat underwhelming, not including of course my job & career because that will kick all sorts of ass. More than likely I will be living normally in a house or apartment with a few others to help with sharing the bill. However I would be working a job that lets me be create artworks and graphic designs for clients while also making my own online series that not only as a job, but also for fun as well, and financially stable. Maybe some time later when I’m more grounded with my job as well as what might happen is that I might make comics and or animations of my own anime creations while also getting paid.

I remember when I did a contest entry for a cookbook cover for my Jr. High school. I never really thought much on it but all I remember that I had working on it for over a week. Essentially it was a collage of different foods that could be made (like snack foods, breakfast food, lunch & dinner, etc.) Once I had handed my entry to the office, I had to wait a few weeks for the results to be announced through the intercoms. Once the results were announced and that I had gotten first place, me and my home room teacher flipped out (in a good way). I’ve always liked to draw, but it was the first time I really connected it to what I wanted to do for a career, it may not be much but this was the moment I recall that helped give me that push.

Leave a Reply

